Bambi and Coffee Billionaires

Hello!

We’ve gotten a couple of letters from people who are like, “I love this newsletter, but…who are you people? It seems like something is going on…” That’s fair, and of course part of the joy of life is mysteries, so perhaps I should not explain. Another bonus of not explaining is that I find it very difficult to explain. But, basically, I’m Hank Green, my brother is John Green, and we started making YouTube videos in 2007 and then never stopped. The Vlogbrothers channel is the home base for that whole thing, where we make videos about whatever we want to make videos about.

For example, I just uploaded a video about a weird rock in Oregon and also (quietly) about time, grief, and the apocalypse.

An exhaustive list of weird, cool things built on the foundation of that YouTube channel would be too long for this, but it includes Crash Course, SciShow, several feature films, at least one Emmy award, mobile apps, VidCon, a hospital in Sierra Leone, an internet store that donates all of its money to charity, and glasses that let you watch 3D movies in 2D.

But the overall vibe of the project is, I think, more important than any of that, and it is that humanity is facing some very serious challenges, but also it has faced serious challenges before. Those challenges were overcome (or at least, moved through) not through luck or inevitability, but by people trying hard to understand problems and then working hard together to solve them. And (more than you would think) they were having a good time while they did it.

Since it worked for them, we figured we should try to do it, too.

Hank

You can always email us at [email protected]

This Week in Stuff

Please send us stuff you think we should feature to [email protected]

Much more progress can be made against child mortality

Saloni Dattani

The world has made great progress against child mortality. But in many countries, a significant share still die during childhood.

The data on this map comes from the UN IGME, which estimates child mortality rates worldwide using detailed household surveys and vital statistics.

As the map shows, child mortality is much lower in rich countries, where fewer than 1% of children die before the age of five.

However, the figures are much higher in poor countries, especially across Africa and South Asia. In Pakistan, for example, 6% die before their fifth birthday. In Nigeria and Somalia, the figure is 11%.

These statistics show that despite impressive falls in child mortality, much more progress can be made.

Our World in Data is a UK-based non-profit organization that publishes research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. You can find more of their data insights here.

This Week at Complexly

Complexly makes a lot of cool stuff and they don’t want you to miss out. To make sure you get the chance to see all of their new videos, they make weekly playlists on YouTube!

Crash Course teased the 2024 Crash Course Coin on their socials! Be sure to save the date (May 28th) if you want to help keep Crash Course free because the coins sell out quickly.

Recipe Recreations

We shared recipes that had been emailed to us in last Friday’s newsletter, and they were very loved! Thanks to everyone who told us about their recreation successes and to the folks who developed the recipes.

Photo from Eli

Photo from anonymous

Some Games to Play!

Scrabble Tetris (by carykh)

SpellCheck.xyc (by Answer in Progress.)

If you post your results on social media, we’d love it if you post a link for folks to subscribe to “We’re Here” (https://werehere.beehiiv.com/subscribe)

Download Gubbins on iOS or Android!

This Gubbins postcard was made by Asia. Send yours to [email protected] 

We’re Here

Last week we asked what you love about where you live. Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about it!

What I love the most about living in Melbourne is that the city is so vibrant. There’s always so much to do and so much to see. The public transport here is amazing as well, I can’t drive but I almost don’t need to with the amount of trains and trams we have. I still can’t believe I get to live here everyday.

Milo

I live in Wimbledon...and must start off by disappointing John. I'm afraid quick access to AFC Wimbledon matches isn't what I love most. Though, never really getting into sports myself, I still love John's pure joy and enthusiasm for his sports team.

So, what do I love most? Wimbledon Common! It's a massive green area with lots of trees, paths, open fields, ponds and amazing views. I love intentionally losing myself in one of the 'forest' paths and there being no-one visible in any direction. A moment alone in nature, briefly shutting out the major metropolitan city surrounding me.

Atul

There are many things to love about living in New Orleans but I my favorite thing is being close to my family and community.

I lived in different parts of the country for years, and I didn’t think I would ever come home (there’s a lot of hard things about living in New Orleans/Louisiana too)… but there’s just nothing like home, especially if your home is Nola.

Marion

My favorite thing about living in Olympia, WA is being so close to the water. I walk on the docks almost daily with my dog where we see jellyfish, sea otters, starfish, crabs, harbor seals, and many more critters. Olympia is also a smaller, close knit community that cares deeply about any and every cause under the sky.

Katherine

I have moved recently, but I was lucky enough to live in Covilhã for 2 years. It's a quiet place, located in the heart of Serra da Estrela, Portugal. The air quality is amazing, the days are long and quiet, I got to see so many new and exciting animals (especially insects) and I've met so many wonderful people. I'm thankful for the time I spent there, now I'm off to other adventures :)

Miguel

And that’s the end of the newsletter!

We’d love for you to draw us flowers this week. We’re excited to stop and smell the roses with you!

You can email us at [email protected].

Join the conversation

or to participate.