Fish Questions and King Bees

Hello!

When I got sick, one of the things I felt really bad about was how much information was trapped inside my head. There are so many amazing people who are just starting their journeys as internet content creators and I knew so many things that could help them. I've done a fair bit of mentoring over the years, but I haven't done as much of it as I would like. I think this is a thing for most people as they progress in their careers. The main thing humans do is share information really efficiently and that's the whole reason any of this exists! So that's one of the things I came out of it feeling like I wanted to do more of.

We had this idea at SciShow of doing a "residency" where we would pay a person who was closer to the beginning of their career to join SciShow pitch meetings, pitch ideas for episodes, write those episodes, go through our editorial process and then, at the end of it, come out to Missoula to film the episodes. And it happened! And I honestly can't believe how well it went. As part of it, I got to spend the day with our first ever SciShow Resident, Jaida Elcock, who is a PhD student studying sharks and also has begun to build an audience on TikTok, Twitter, and Instagram. It was so wonderful to talk with her, even if I did constantly feel VERY FORTY FOUR!!! I learned so much from her and I hope she learned a lot from me. Her episodes are going to be coming out on SciShow over the next month, and the first one, where she and I just answer a bunch of FISH QUESTIONS is out now.

It's pretty wonderful to have the thought "I should do this thing more" and then actually do it! I wish all of my goals went that way!!!

Hank

You can always email us at [email protected]

This Week in Stuff

  • We’ve gotten several requests for a Nerdfighteria Discord server, and you’re in luck! It already exists and you can find it here.

  • Skype a Scientist connects scientists with classrooms, libraries, and more to chat and answer questions live.

  • Michael of Vsauce shared some words of wisdom on TikTok.

  • There’s a 24/7 live stream of brown bears in Katmai National Park, Alaska.

  • Minute Earth explained why there are no king bees.

Please send us stuff you think we should feature to [email protected]

Coal power has effectively died in the United Kingdom

Hannah Ritchie

The United Kingdom was the birthplace of coal. It has now, effectively, died there.

As shown in the chart, in the late 1980s, around two-thirds of the UK’s electricity came from coal. By the time I was born in the 1990s, this had dropped to just over half.

The use of coal has plummeted in my lifetime. It now makes up less than 2% of the UK’s electricity.

Coal was first replaced by gas but is now being pushed out by wind, solar, and biomass.

Our World in Data is a UK-based non-profit organization that publishes research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. You can find more of their data insights here.

Colored by Robin

This Week at Complexly

Heading back to school? Prepare for a new year with Crash Course Study Skills! This 10-episode series is packed with useful information about memory, concentration, note-taking, essay-writing, test anxiety and more. You're sure to learn something that will help you have your best year yet!

The first ever Complexly Learn-a-thon, a celebration of all things Complexly, starts NEXT WEEK! We hope you’ll mark your calendar and join us!

Some Games to Play

SpellCheck.xyc (by Answer in Progress.)

Download Gubbins on iOS or Android!

This Gubbins postcard was made by Kitti. Send yours to [email protected]

If you post your results on social media, we’d love it if you post a link for folks to subscribe to “We’re Here” (https://werehere.beehiiv.com/subscribe)

Your Favorite Smells

Last week, we asked for your favorite smells. You filled our inbox with scent-related memories and we loved reading them! Thanks for all the childhood moments, baked goods, and nature.

My favorite smell is pancakes I didn't make.

Jessica

Tomato leaves when rubbed through your fingers - a favorite of my mom, and now me.

Hadley

My favourite smell is the smell that only comes around after it rains, it’s called petrichor and it’s the agitation of the dirt from the rain that causes it.

Angel

Every year on Christmas Eve, my family preps home made cinnamon rolls. They rise overnight then are baked in the morning. The scent of the cinnamon rolls baking spreading through the house as the family gathers and opens presents is by far my favorite smell.

Rachael

Fresh cilantro. I get some weird looks in the grocery store when I buy a bunch of cilantro, because after selecting a bunch, I have to bury my face in it and inhale deeply. SO GOOD.

Stephanie

I used to work in a language lab with African Grey parrots and learned to love the smell of lab bird poop. Weirdly banana-oatmeal-y and very distinct.

Rayna

The smell of the second floor of my childhood home, specifically on warm spring or fall days when the sun had baked the hardwood floors of our home, and that comforting aroma of warm wood and old plaster just made me feel so at ease. My mom moved to a new home around 10 years ago, but I swear I can close my eyes and still smell it even now.

Amanda

Years ago, I got a candle from Walmart called "Pumpkin Waffles". That is easily my favorite scent. I've been thinking about that candle since I first smelled it.

Ashley

My favorite smell is coconut. Not sure why, but it reminds me of being outside in the summer sun.

RJ

I have a few, but I think my weirdest one is sunscreen - specifically the lotion kind. It only conjures good memories of fun in the sun and often reminds me of being a kid. It's the smell of summer!

Brynley

Thanks for reading!

Where do you go to think? Maybe you walk your dog around your neighborhood, take a long shower, or lie on the floor. Let us know!

Send your thinking spots to [email protected]
We're Here is the newsletter of Nerdfighteria; the community of people that sprung up around Hank and John Green's YouTube videos. That community has many focuses and has spawned many projects but the overarching theme is that hopelessness is the wrong response to imperfection. What makes the world better is groups of people trying to understand and solve problems, and people can only do that for an extended period if they're having at least a little bit of fun.

Reply

or to participate.