Time Travel and Democracy

Hello!

Yesterday, as part of the Complexly Learn-a-thon, I interviewed four people who work at Complexly about how we make videos. Some things occurred to me, while talking to these people about ancient lead, invisible bio-geographical barriers, and fighting for every bit of attention we can get from a student in what must be the most distractable era in all of human history. Here are some of those things:

1. Telling stories isn't just a really powerful tool, it is SO FUN. I love telling stories on a stage (which, btw, I will be doing in just two Thursdays at the Last Best Comedy Festival in Bozeman). I am so happy that I get to have a job where I tell stories for a living, but we all tell stories for our lives. It's just so good...

2. "The Truth" is harder than everyone thinks. Intuition and gut feelings are powerful and simple, but the truth is complex and hard-fought. It's very hard to be in touch with this if you aren't in a profession where you are always in the weeds of trying to get to the truest possible version of "true." But, regardless of how hard it is, that work is VERY IMPORTANT.

3. What makes something "interesting" is very different from what makes something true, which is a really powerful force that pulls us away from the truth in society. And I just want to say, that isn't something that's evil about people. I think it makes perfect sense, but it is a problem, which is why it's so cool to get to work on teams that have developed a ton of expertise in how to make true things feel interesting. Trying to make interesting things feel true is a lot easier and a lot worse.

I hope you've all had a great week,

Hank

You can always email us at [email protected]

This Week in Stuff

Please send us stuff you think we should feature to [email protected]

The number of identified exoplanets has dramatically increased thanks to the “transit method”

Edouard Mathieu

Exoplanets are planets that orbit stars other than the Sun. Their existence was first confirmed in 1992 when astronomers Aleksander Wolszczan and Dale Frail identified two exoplanets orbiting a star located 2,300 light-years from Earth.

As shown in this chart, from 1992 to 2005, scientists discovered two hundred more exoplanets. They primarily used a method called "radial velocity". This technique works by detecting small changes in the color of a star due to the gravitational pull of a planet orbiting it.

But starting in the mid-2000s, the "transit method” vastly accelerated the pace of exoplanet discovery. This method detects tiny dips in a star’s brightness when a planet passes in front of it. This dimming can reveal a planet's presence and provide information about its size and orbit.

As is often the case with technological change, what was once a unique scientific achievement has become a much more frequent occurrence. The advancements in detection methods now allow us to discover hundreds of exoplanets each year.

Adding up all methods of identification, more than 5,500 exoplanets have been found by scientists worldwide, according to data from NASA's Exoplanet Archive.

Our World in Data is a UK-based non-profit organization that publishes research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. You can find more of their data insights here.

This Week at Complexly

The Complexly Learn-a-thon continues next week! So far, the Learn-a-thon has raised over $35,000 in support of Complexly's mission to continue creating accessible and educational videos and podcasts. There are four more days of events left, including a revival of SciShow Quiz Show and a Complexly trivia event, hosted by Hank!

YouTube videos these days are more often:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Some Games to Play!

SpellCheck.xyc (by Answer in Progress.)

Download Gubbins on iOS or Android!

This Gubbins postcard was made by Sarah. Send yours to [email protected]

If you post your results on social media, we’d love it if you post a link for folks to subscribe to “We’re Here” (https://werehere.beehiiv.com/subscribe)

Our Best Thinking Spots

Last week, we asked where you go to do your best thinking. Thanks for sharing your best brainstorm locations and activities with us!

I'm in my first year at college and spending a lot of time at the local cemetery. Started when I got locked out of my dorm on night 1 and had to wait for my roommate to finish band practice, but since then I've just kept going!

Vark

My thinking spot is in my car while driving in silence. Sometimes, music or audiobooks are too much for me, so I’m stuck with the problems in my head. Lots of good ideas happen while driving!

Helene

I like going into my closet to think! I just sit there with a book, snack, etc and chill out. Something about the close space and general quietness is weirdly comforting.

Sophia

I love to think in the library at my school. There is a table to the corner that is private and a good spot to study via crash course or just to think during free periods.

Ash

Do people have to go places? My brain never stops.

Jasmine

I like to think while lying in the bed of my dad’s pickup truck in the driveway of my house. The only view is the sky (sometimes clouds and sometimes stars) which makes it easy to untangle my thoughts.

Anna

When I think, I need to be moving at the same speed as my thoughts. This usually culminates with me speed-walking around my neighborhood with headphones on.

Orion

There’s a park near my house that faces Lake Erie. Nothing clears the head better than looking at a giant body of water. Also a good place to realize some problems are smaller than they feel in this big vast world.

Hannah

Personally, it's too loud in my head to have cohesive thoughts, so I have my best thinking sessions on paper, with another person, in the notes app, google doc, or at the top of notebook pages during lecture!

Sydney

My partner and I are doing long distance and we have decided to both answer these questions every week:

Nate: Driving in the car on a straight flat road in Phoenix.

Brooke: Ocean. I let the waves swallow up all my anxiety until I get to the root of things. Only then can I think.

Brooke

And that’s the end of the newsletter!

If you’re up for it, send us a self-portrait! It could be a detailed painting, a doodle, or even something you think represents you. We can’t wait to see you soon!

Send your portrait to [email protected]
We're Here is the newsletter of Nerdfighteria; the community of people that sprung up around Hank and John Green's YouTube videos. That community has many focuses and has spawned many projects but the overarching theme is that hopelessness is the wrong response to imperfection. What makes the world better is groups of people trying to understand and solve problems, and people can only do that for an extended period if they're having at least a little bit of fun.

Reply

or to participate.